What is synced chat for groups on Workplace and how does it work?

When you first create a group, you'll have the option to automatically created a synced chat.
As members join or are added to your group, they will also join the chat. If a member leaves the group, they'll simultaneously leave the chat. If a group member leaves the chat, however, they won't leave the group. Group admins can disable this feature at any time from the group's settings.
Keep in mind that for synced chat to work, your group will need to have less than 250 members.
Creating a synced chat for a group that has already been created
If you didn't create a synced chat when you first created your group, you can create one within the group's settings.
To create a synced chat for your group:
  1. Click below the group's cover photo.
  2. Click Admin options.
  3. Click Group settings.
  4. Next to the Chat heading, click Add.
To link an existing chat with your group:
  1. Click below the group's cover photo.
  2. Click Admin options.
  3. Click Group settings.
  4. Next to the Chat heading, click Link an existing one.
  5. Select the chat you would like to link and press Continue.
  6. When you are sure that you would like to proceed, tick the box and click Continue.
When you link an existing chat with your group you will automatically combine the members. All members of your group will be added to the chat and all members of the chat will be added to your group.
Was this information helpful?